Like Clockwork

The Memoirs of Megan

This post, and MOMMY CONFESSION, comes to you late in the day (I know, I know) because I haven’t really been scheduling posts of late… AND because I spent nap-time having unrealistic expectations of my hair (another post, for another day).

My mommy confession for the week is that after almost a year (yes… A YEAR), I think I may be in a schedule with my two little ones. *fingers crossed*

For the past year, we have flown by the seats of our pants. There has been absolutely no rhyme or rhythm to the madness that occurs from day-to-day in this household. I mean, of course the kids wake up and eat breakfast, get their teeth brushed, get dressed, etc. They take a nap during the day at some point. They get baths, teeth brushed again, fluoride and vitamin, and then head to bed for the night, etc. However, it was never exactly consistent as to when these things happened (except bedtime routine, which started at 8 and ended with them in bed for the night around 8:30).

The past year started with a newborn (NK) in the house. I nursed her the first two months, so nursing sessions were inconsistent and you never knew when she was going to be ready for another feeding. Then, we had vacations to visit family out-of-states at the end of summer, which wasn’t facilitative to “schedules.” Then we had the winter holiday season, which really threw us for a loopty-loo. Then LW started outgrowing his daily nap (not that he is physically or emotionally ready too, but his circadian rhythm and internal clock were definitely making a few adjustments).

I needed some sort of routine. Period. I was getting in a depressed rut because I felt like I couldn’t get out of the house. I never knew when they were going to wake up in the morning, when they were going to be ready to eat, or when they were going to be ready for naps. I never knew if I was going to be able to get LW to take a nap that day and, if not, whether he would end up ridiculously cranky later in the afternoon/evening. LW and I were in a smooth-running routine before NK came along… so I made my mind up that I was going to figure out something that worked for all three of us. I knew it was going to be thee only way I would eliminate that overwhelming anxiety that I had about the uncertainty of the day. It was literally to the point that I’d be on the verge of a panic attack if I noticed I was missing an ingredient for dinner because I had no idea when I would be able to run to the grocery store!

The other night we tried something different. We had LW and NK in bed earlier than normal. We went to bed shortly after we got them to bed, which was also earlier than normal for us. We ALL woke up at 5 the next morning. NK was ready for a little snooze around 9:30. Getting up so early (compared to our normal), left LW ready AND ASKING to take a nap around 11:30 (just after finishing his lunch). NK was ready for another nap later in the afternoon, close to 2:00. Things ran really smoothly yesterday. So last night, I had both LW and NK in bed by 8. We all woke up again at 5 (I encouraged such by opening their bedroom doors and turning on the hallway lights while the Hubby and I were getting ready, didn’t take them long to wake up… and they were PLEASANT).

We all sat down to breakfast together. The rest of the morning/early afternoon has run like that of yesterday. I am hoping that by adjusting bedtimes and waking up at a consistent time each morning, we stay in somewhat of a routine, where I know when to expect them to be hungry, ready for naps, and the sorts. I don’t want to feel like a prisoner of the house because I don’t know what my children are going to need at certain times of the day.

Have YOU ever been in a similar situation? Did you have a difficult time developing a routine with your child? Did it become more difficult once you had your second to find that perfect balance? Please share your stories below! Linking up with Heather of Cookies for Breakfast and Megan of Memoirs of Megan.

12 responses to “Like Clockwork

  1. Haha oh this sounds like me. We didn’t get on a schedule right away and Aria’s bedtime schedule was so sporadic. It drove me nuts! Finally we only recently began w a solid bedtime routine and she has an almost set schedule – that’s occasionally interrupted by teething or other drama.

    Took me a year to get her on one though. So yeah. #momoftheyear? lol

    • Teething, vacations, holidays, it just all gets in the way and messes things up, haha. Today, I actually got out of the house to go shopping with them… by myself… for the first-time in FOREVER because I roughly knew what to expect when! :)

  2. Mercifully, I don’t remember much about my children’s earliest days — I do remember that I didn’t have a set schedule for them about much of anything. They just seemed to fall into ours as they grew, I’m not sure how. We were always kind of on the go, and maybe they just adapted to it, idk. So glad things are starting to settle down for you and get more routine-oriented, if only for the extra freedom it will create for your family!

    • I actually got out of the house and went shopping today with both kiddos, by myself, for the first-time in like FOREVER! It was pretty great. :)

  3. Whoa nelly, that routine sounds freaking glorious (minus the 5 am part haha!)! I wish I knew what to expect from Ben like this! We were HORRIBLE – I mean horribhele – at schedules until he started sleeping through the night in his crib. He was all over the place and I never knew what to expect. Then he got into a semi-regular schedule for like, a month, and he’s been all over the place since then. If I could get him to nap at the same time every day, for the same amount of time, I’d be over the moon with happiness. This you-never-know-when-naptime-will-hit-and-how-much-stuff-you-can-get-done-during-it business is for the birds.

    Speaking of that, I wasted today’s too-short naptime by doing my hair too :)

    Thanks for linking up with us!

  4. I’m interested to see how things go once I have my kiddo. Obviously when he’s a baby I’m not going to worry about a strict schedule, I mean when he gets a bit older. I’ve never been very good at keeping routine though so I really don’t know.

    • It was a lot easier to go with the flow when it was just LW, but once his sister came along… going with the flow, just wasn’t feasible. Not having a rhyme and reason with two kiddos doesn’t allow you to get much accomplished! Can’t wait for that little stinker of yours to make his big debut! :)

Leave something lovely:

