Gideon’s Story

A few weeks back, I set out on a mission. I wanted to created a series that shared the special stories of my friends’ little ones on my blog, as a way to raise awareness to prematurity, congenital birth defects, or illness and complications following delivery requiring hospitalization and/or surgery. I reached out to many real-life friends who have experienced such with their little ones, asking them to share their stories.

Only one person got back to me with their story, but if I had to choose just one to share… it would be this story. She talks of faith and the plans God had for her family early on. Three years ago yesterday, my dear friend from High School and her husband, welcomed their first-born child into this world. I am so blessed beyond words to be sharing their story today with you!

I bring you Gideon’s story in the words of his beautiful momma, Loni…

Harrison and I were expecting our first child, Gideon. Our doctor ordered a 37 week ultrasound to make sure all is right with before labor, per his protocol. That’s when we learned that Gideon had Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome.

We were transferred to a more advanced hospital that could give Gideon the care he required, with a NICU that could meet Gideon’s needs. Only a few days after learning about his congenital heart disease, Gideon was born.  And oh, he was the most perfect baby anyone could ever have imagined! You wouldn’t have known there was something wrong going on in his sweet, little chest.

Gideon-Collage-1

Gideon had an emergency catheter surgery when he was one day old.

Gideon-Collage-2

When Gideon was ten days old, he had his scheduled heart surgery. The surgery went perfect, but his body was exhausted from the long procedure. They could not get him off the Heart/Lung machine. For three days, the doctors, nurses, and technicians did everything in their power to get Gideon better. We filled the waiting room with Gideon’s fans and family and prayed hard for his body to heal, but, God had other plans.

Gideon-Collage-3

Jesus took Gideon to his Heavenly home when he was 13 days old.

Gideon-7

I know you are reading this and asking, “Why!?” As unfair as it seems, God’s plans for Gideon were accomplished because of his short time here.

If that particular doctor had not done that ultrasound, and we hadn’t transferred hospitals, Gideon would have only lived a mere minutes. For those 13 days, we got to know our son. The NICU gave us the chance to spend awesome time with him that under other circumstances we wouldn’t have had.

Gideon taught us so many lessons and brought Harrison and I closer together than a couple can be. I know that without a doubt, my awesome son had impacted thousands of lives and his work still isn’t done.

Jeremiah, reads: “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; Before you were born I set you apart…”

Before Gideon was conceived, he agreed to live a short life in order to safe others. And in the same respect, I agreed to endure this hardship for my son’s ministry. These thoughts are so comforting, and as time goes on, they only make more sense.

Six months after losing Gideon, we were contemplating adopting. But Harrison also wanted one of our own. So we decided we will give it one shot. If we get pregnant, we will not adopt. And wouldn’t you know we did!

In our second month of pregnancy, we miscarried. Devastating? Yes. But God was just answering prayers.

A year later we gave birth to a perfectly healthy baby boy, Gabriel. If our second child was a girl, her name is Georgia, if he was a boy, George (if you ask Harrison though, he’s definitely a boy). I know that Georgia agreed to not make a full term pregnancy so that she could join her brother in Heaven, and give Gabriel a chance to be born.

Gideon-Collage-4Gideon-10

I’m so proud of my children! I love and miss them every single day. And losing them was the worst things that have ever happened to me, and probably ever will. I can start to see how hard it was for God to give up his only Son, Jesus Christ, knowing he would suffer and eventually be crucified. But it was this very sacrifice that gives me the opportunity to see my kids again. So I will patiently wait, and praise God, until that day.

God Bless!
Loni Briner

6 responses to “Gideon’s Story

  1. Revelation 21:4 ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”
    Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;in all your ways submit to Him and He will make your paths straight.
    In all things acknowledge Him and rely on Him.
    Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.
    Thanks for sharing this story!

  2. This story touched my heart, and I cried, then smiled, then cried again. That very last picture tore at my heartstrings. Such a heart-tugging post about both grief and also God’s unfailing love. Thanks so much for posting this!
    Two of my three children were born 1-1/2 months early and were in ICU for a few weeks, but fortunately they all survived and became great adults. Even back then I was amazed at the advances that had been made in the field of premature birth, but there is still so much to learn and more research needed to be done!
    Kudos to you for helping raise awareness to future parents-to-be who may have to go through the same thing.

    • Her faith is unlike anybody’s I’ve ever witnessed! She is such a strong, beautiful girl and I am so blessed to have had the opportunity to know her through school! :)

Leave something lovely:

