Mom Guilt

The Memoirs of Megan

Ladies, let’s get real.

Truth is… I suffer from MOM GUILT. I don’t think I’m alone in this… in fact, I KNOW I’m not alone in this (just check out Dawnelle’s recent post, regarding similar feelings).

I’m a stay-at-home mom. My job is more than just full-time. It’s round-the-clock. I love it. But with it comes the reality that I won’t always get a break during the day when I need one or half hour lunch to enjoy (and obviously this depends on the day, some are obviously better than others, and it wasn’t quite this extreme before juggling the needs of not just one but TWO little ones). I don’t leave my job at the end of 8 or 12 hours, knowing that somebody has come in to replace me for the next shift or that I have till the next day to continue my work.

Again, I LOVE what I do and feel so truly blessed beyond belief to have the opportunity to do it. However, sometimes momma needs a break. A breather. A chance to get away for a bit, gather my thoughts, and revitalize myself.

BUT, this leaves me feeling guilty. GUILTY, GUILTY, GUILTY. Why am I being so impatient with them? Why do I feel like I need to get away from them? Does this mean I’m failing at my job as a mother? Why can’t I handle this? And worst of all, feeling like I don’t love my children as much as I should or as they deserve. So as if being exhausted and slightly overwhelmed with the demands of two toddlers isn’t enough… I carry this guilt around with it.

Where does this guilt stem from? Mostly my anxiety as a mother and own insecurities in my parenting. But also from judgement of other mommas.

Saturday, was no exception to this feeling. I had left the two little ones with my Hubby, as I headed back “home” for the morning to attend a craft show with a close friend, held at our alma mater. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit with her and perusing the many stands of handcrafted items throughout the halls and gym where I once attended High School. I enjoyed the quiet silent (not even the radio on) hour and a half drive down there and back again… I could actually hear my thoughts, make sense of them, and that left me feeling a lot less overwhelmed by many of the things that had been weighing on me (but that I had just never had a chance to address or consider).

I came back to my two little ones and Hubby feeling refreshed, renewed, revitalized. They both seemed more than thrilled by having Daddy’s uninterrupted attention all morning for a change. It was a good experience for all of us.

At that point, I realized that there is nothing wrong with me. I have no reason to feel guilty when I feel the need for a break. We ALL benefited from the break… I had some quiet time to, in a sense, meditate during my drive, along with the interaction of a close friend… The Hubby had a chance to spend some uninterrupted time with the kiddos after a long, 50-hour, work week… and the kiddos had a slight change from their momma’s boring routine by Daddy watching over and tending to them for the morning while Mommy was gone.

Do YOU suffer from MOM GUILT? If so, what triggers your feelings of guilt? Linking up with Heather of Cookies for Breakfast and Megan of The Memoirs of Megan for Mommy Confessions.

10 responses to “Mom Guilt

  1. I struggle with similar guilt, and like yourself, I try to remember that it’s normal. I love being home with her, and wouldn’t trade it for the world – BUT, it is nice having time to myself once in awhile, and it is nice to get out and just have some silence and not worry about wrestling in and out of carseats, listening to the Wiggles to keep her from crying while we drive, etc. haha. I hear ya completely!

    • Silence is beautiful every now and again! Gives you just enough time to pull yourself back together and come back to child ready to be an even better mommy! :)

  2. Definitely don’t feel guilty for needing time for yourself. I suppose I may be jumping the gun but I can only imagine that I will need the same thing, no matter how much I love my kid. We’re still people in addition to being moms.

  3. You must be the funnest mom on earth! I mean, my kids didn’t get upset when I left them, they were glad Mommy was going somewhere so THEY could have a change of pace, lol! Seriously, you sound like a great Mommy, and you’re right; you have no reason to feel guilty — it sounds like the time you were away did them and you a lot of good!

    • Oh, thank you for the reassurance! And so sorry it took me so long to reply to your lovely comment! Took a small blogging break for my two little ones birthday celebrations! :)

  4. Mom guilt gets the best of us for sure. I feel so guilty when I get frustrated and I have to tell myself I’m human and I put up with a lot. Getting frustrated here or there isn’t bad. Then I look at the sweet faces and it helps. But I could totally use a break even if it’s just going to the store… alone.

    • Going to the store ALONE is heavenly, right?! Oh, the things us mommas find pleasure in! They are truly the simplest things! :)

Leave something lovely:

